Alif & Hamza

4 Feb

In my first year of Arabic studies, around Valentine’s Day, you could hear my fellow students often joke to each other: “oh alif, let me be your hamza”. Although I found this joke rather silly, it did inspire me to write a bit of a love poem.
For the readers who don’t speak Arabic, alif and hamza are two Arabic letters, which are combined in this character:  أ

Oh beautiful alif, let me be your hamza
Let me be the one who protects you
And remembers you
Let me be the finishing note to your
Most soulful tune
My wonderous queen
Your radiance makes me humble and small
What am I without you?
Let me stay with you
Until time dissolves
And words are no more

Oh dearest hamza, let me be your alif
Come and pour all your beauty over me
My love, you define me, shape me
Come and let your soul melt into me
For you are the reason I draw breath
If you will only be mine
Mankind will never cease to speak of us
And rejoice in our love
We will be together forever and a day
My beautiful hamza
My wonderous king
I will stay with you
Until time dissolves
And words are no more


Leave a Reply

