The voice of the Saudi Woman

9 Jan

That will be the title of my bachelor paper, inshaAllah. I’m in my third year of Arabic and Islamic studies, and third year means bachelor paper year! Well, I haven’t come round yet to actually writing it, because my first semester has been pretty busy with other assignments (seems like they did it on purpose!), but I’m actually quite looking forward to start on it! I submitted my description and temporary working title in October, and this is what it says*:

“My bachelorpaper will be about the means that women in Saudi Arabia can use to express themselves, and to stand up for their rights. The paper will mainly concentrate on 3 domains: womenrightsorganisations, media and internet.

1) I will investigate if women there really have the chance to organise themselves and if their organisations are officialy recognised or not. I will also try to find out what their methods are and if their campaigns have an influence on the political policies.

2) Concerning the media, I will investigate if there are a lot of female journalists, and if they experience any difficulties in expressing themselves.

3) I will investigate which new possibilities the internet brings to women there to describe and express their problems. I will also write about how the Saudi authorities respond to this new possibility, and if they do anything to prevent it.”

Well, that’s it for now. Like I said, I haven’t started on it yet (woops), and some changes might be made along the way!

Wish me luck! 😉

* The original description is in Dutch. Any possible mistakes I might have made in English I did not make in Dutch! hehe.

6 Responses to “The voice of the Saudi Woman”

  1. Tender January 9, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Great , I am a Saudi journalist and I am wiling to help in’shallah if you need any help . Good luck love.

  2. goldenraindrop January 9, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Thank you! I’ll keep that in mind! 😉

  3. Nawy March 9, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I’m Saudi and I would be more than glad to help you, even connect you with some women from different classes and thoughts back home in Saudi. Please let me know !

  4. Nawy March 10, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Does my e-email appear to you? If so, Email me and I will get back to you with a few things in mind.

Leave a Reply

