The Color of Tea

1 Nov

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams”

– Ashley Smith

Yesterday I was at a family brunch, and bored. My cousins and brother were playing poker, and I hate that game. I was feeling pretty low when I decided to get myself a cup of Moroccan tea. And all of a sudden, I found myself mesmerized by the beauty of its color. It was really a strange feeling, like my attention was drawn from the world around me, and focused on one small cup, with a swirling color. It was as if the color was feeding me, making me feel peaceful and relaxed. And then I realised, like so many, that life is all about the small things. We worry too much about school, work, family, politics, relations, etc without seeing the beauty around us, the beauty that nature and God provide us, if we would only look and truly see. Then we would notice that there is nothing more pleasing than the way the sunlight reflects in a raindrop, or the smell of flowers combined with a light spring breeze filling the room, or the color of Moroccan Mint tea against a white cup.

Just a thought I wanted to share 😉

One Response to “The Color of Tea”

  1. iphigeniailmatar November 2, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Lovely thought, my dear! All great intellectuals seem to get their ideas by the drinking of tea (look at Proust, when he sopped his madeleine in a cup of blossom tea). It’s a gift to be able to enjoy the small things in life and to forget our worries, even if it’s just for one moment x

Leave a Reply

