Work Work Work

29 Jul

All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence.

Martin Luther King Jr.

I am currently doing a summerjob in a company that produces and sells wallcovering. This is my last week, and frankly, I’m glad. I’ve never seen myself as a “company person”, and this job made me realise more than ever that economic life is not my true calling. I can’t work just for the sake of making money. I need a job that fulfills me, that feeds my soul and my hunger for knowledge. Making commands and invoices the whole day is not exactly what my soul wants or needs, to be honest. Of course, I’m grateful that I got the 3-week-job, so I can make some money, but it’s not something I see myself doing for the rest of my life. I want to work, yes. I want to contribute, to make a difference in the lives of people. Is that ambitious? Yes. Is it vain? No. I believe we were all born with special talents, born with the ability to make a positive change, and we should use that gift to the fullest.

As for myself, I love to write. I don’t know if I’m any good at it, I just know that I want to be a writer,  like so many others of course. We all need something to strive for, a passion, a dream. My brother, for example, is very passionate about making music, especially electronic music. It’s not my style, but that’s not the point. He wants to be a professional DJ and performer, and the fact that there are actually already a bunch of DJ’s doing the job pretty well, doesn’t stop him from trying. He spends most of his free time creating music, and performing at clubs. When he makes money, he spends it on new instruments, new gadgets for his electro music. He also plays the guitar, piano and drums. He’s got talent, yes, but that’s often not enough. Still, he just knows he wants to do this, and his determination is an inspiration to me when I’m losing touch with my passions in life. His love for his music pushes me to not give up on the things my heart is longing for, because we can only be happy when we are fighting for our dreams.

I know that creation takes time, and practise. So in the mean time, I would like to translate books. I love stories, and I love languages, so I thought it might be a good combination for me. To be emerged in literature, every second of the day. But then again, I want to help people too. It’s so tricky choosing a “practical”  job that’s right for you!
I’m still studying now, so the decision is not so urgent either.

I’m hoping to be hit on the head with inspiration some time soon though! 😉

3 Responses to “Work Work Work”

  1. Marahm August 26, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Like you, I loved languages and writing. I still do, but when I was young, I did not have the courage or confidence to commit myself to a literary career. I studied laboratory medicine, instead, because I had to support myself.

    So now, nearly forty years later, I am chomping at the bit for retirement, so I can do what I was meant to do all along— write.

    I tell you this in case you are still a crossroad, and still able to commit to your passion. In any event, know that your writing will always be with you, no matter how your career path curves.

    You might be interested in Story Circle Network for Women with Stories to Tell:

    http://www.storycircle.org/index.php

  2. goldenraindrop August 26, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Thanks for the site! It looks very interesting 🙂

    My current studies are Arabic and islam, which interest me very much, although it doesn’t lead directly to a job :p

    I really wish to be a writer, but nothing’s going to happen by just wishing of course. I’m also really interested in psychology and theology, so I’m still trying to decide if after my current studies I’m going to take my studies of islam to the next level, or maybe study something with psychology or with literature.
    Still very much not decided, and as you can see I’m not really the practical type :p

  3. Marahm September 2, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    You might think about combining your interests in Arabic, Islam, psychology and theology. I’ve noticed, over the years, that psychologists and counselors who know Arabic and Islam are in short supply.

    Traditionally, Arabs and Muslims have referred their problems to Islam and the tribe, but now, as the world shrinks, and people of differing traditions are exposed to one another, the character of interpersonal problems has changed. There is an absolute need for mental health professionals who are knowledgeable in both Arabic and Islam.

Leave a Reply

