A Balm for the Soul

28 Jun

The man that hath  not music in himself
Nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds,
Is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils;
And his affections dark as Erebus:
Let no such man be trusted

– William Shakespeare

What I’d be without music? I’m not sure, but I rather think my life would be dull, dry and empty, such a treasure music can be! Although people say you can’t miss what you don’t know, I’m sure I would feel it somewhere, in my body or soul, the absence of that stream of comfort, passion, sadness, wonder and delight that often brings me to tears.

Music without words is my favourite. I’m very fond of words, don’t get me wrong, but music is a language on its own, with a capacity of expressing ideas, thoughts and emotions that reaches far beyond what words can ever describe or even insinuate. In fact, there is a whole world beyond words, which people are often forgetful of, for it is not visible with the eye, only with the heart. A place where things are known without being spoken of. Without a doubt, music can take us there.

Music is also a great way to express your inner life. Even just playing the notes of a piece that some big composer has created centuries before me, makes all the different pieces of me fall into place. Playing music can turn all my pain and hurts into something glorious and beautiful. I love to pour all the colors and shades of my being into my piano, and then to hear it sing back to me, the melody describing the complex and passionate world of my heart.
I want to grasp the life behind the notes, to resurrect the story, the images, the very soul of the piece in my head and in the air around me.

It fills me with wonder to think about how humans created instruments. They must have felt some inner urge, some mysterious longing to express themselves in a way that transcended all barriers of language. Maybe we have an inner rhythm, that needs to get out. Maybe nature has a rhythm too, that humans back then were still able to feel and hear, living so close to her every day and night.  Birds have their own melodies, which does suggest that it is something natural, something that comes straight from the core of life. People can also sing, some in a most beautiful and heartfelt manner, and are again able to reach beyond all the superficial things in this world, straight to all that is true and authentic in this beautiful life.

2 Responses to “A Balm for the Soul”

  1. Fellow Wolf July 28, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    My honourable friend, what you write is so beautiful and powerful that it’s like music to my ears 😉 I hope you’ll always keep writing and keep inspiring people, me included. The picture is also very well-chosen – are you going to write about visual arts someday? 🙂

    • goldenraindrop July 28, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      Thanks habibti! =)

      Visual arts are not my area of expertise :p hehe
      I want to keep writing, and do my best to inspire people, because that would really be something I’d love to do!

      xxx

Leave a Reply

